X-ray crystal structure


X-ray crystal structure

beta-Peptide helix

 X-ray crystal structure


Part II Hand-in 2015

Congratulations to Cordell, Catherine, Susie, Marek and Saranja for submitting their Part II theses on time!

Part II Hand-in 2014

Congratulations to Matt, Haewon, Dan and David for submitting their Part II theses.
All done by Thursday evening - a new SGD Group record!

Welcome to the SGD Group website

The group currently consists of about 20 people. We are based on the ground floor of the Chemistry Research Laboratory.

For information about opportunities with the group please go to the Contact page.

Recent News

11th May 2016  OxStem's record fundraising round is featured in Financial Times. The story highlights the importance of unlocking the potential of research from UK universities to translational medicine; OxStem will address a number of therapeutic areas in regenerative medicine including cancer, heart failure and neurodegenerative diseases. FT subscribers can read the article here

10th May 2016  OxStem, an Oxford spin-out founded by Prof. Steve Davies, Prof. Angela Russell (Department of Chemistry) and Prof. Dame Kay Davies (Department of Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics), has raised a record £16.9M to develop small molecule drug candidates to treat age-related conditions including cancer, neurodegenerative diseases and heart failure. The company has formed strategic partnerships with Human Longevity Inc. and CEO Dr J Craig Venter together with Mr Bob Duggan and Dr. Mahkam Zanganeh (former CEO & Chairman and Chief Operating Officer respectively) of Pharmacyclics that was sold last year to Abbvie for US$21 billion. Other individual investors, together with Oxford Science Innovation, will enable OxStem to fund the development of a series of daughter companies - each with a focus on a different large unmet therapeutic need. The majority of the £16.9M is expected to be used to fund joint projects between the Department of Pharmacology, the Department of Chemistry and other Departments across Oxford over the next three years.
[View Press Release]

15th Apr 2016  Our paper on the asymmetric synthesis of 
(+)-preussin B and its analogues has been selected as a Featured Article in J. Org. Chem. [View Journal Page]

24th Mar 2016  Congratulations to Alex White on the completion of his MSc (Res).

9th Mar 2016  Steve's h-index (Web of Science) has
increased to 58.

18th Nov 2015  Part II Open Day. Download a copy of our poster here.

3rd Nov 2015  Congratulations to Matt Kennedy who was awarded a commendation for his performance in the examination for PRS transfer of status.

16th Oct 2015  Congratulations to Dr Charlotte Zammit on the completion of her D.Phil.

17th Jul 2015  Steve's h-index (Web of Science) has
increased to 57.

7th Jul 2015  Congratulations to Dr Aude Figuccia on the completion of her D.Phil.

27th Apr 2015  Congratulations to Dr Aileen Frost on the completion of her D.Phil.

12th Dec 2014  Steve's h-index (Web of Science) has increased to 56.

24th Nov 2014  Congratulations to Ian Houlsby who was one of only two students selected to represent Oxford Chemistry at the two day Lilly EUACC Drug Discovery Workshop in Windelsham, Surrey.

11th Nov 2014  Congratulations to Marta Brambilla who was awarded a runner-up prize for her performance at the Syngenta Scholarship Scheme Interactive Workshops 2014.

31st Oct 2014  Congratulations to Kristína Csatayová who is one of the first recipients of the Alan Howe Prize in recognition of the excellence and enthusiasm of her work as a Junior Demonstrator in the organic teaching labs.

17th Oct 2014  Congratulations to Aileen Frost who has been selected to give a powerpoint presentation at the 8th Singapore International Chemistry Conference later this year.

7th Oct 2014  Our paper on the asymmetric synthesis of
(–)-(1R,7aS)-absouline is one of the most viewed articles in Tetrahedron. [View Journal Page]

25th Sept 2014  Congratulations to Marta Brambilla who has been selected to attend the Syngenta Scholarship Scheme Interactive Workshops from 2nd to 4th Nov 2014.

17th Sept 2014  Steve has published his 550th paper.

11th Aug 2014  Congratulations to Aileen Frost who was selected to give a powerpoint presentation at the ACS 248th National Meeting in San Fransisco.

8th Aug 2014  Congratulations to Dr Kristína Csatayová on the completion of her D.Phil. Kristína will continue to work in the group as part of our Medicinal Chemistry Team, investigating the development of small molecule modulators of utrophin for DMD therapy.

7th Aug 2014  Congratulations to Charlotte Zammit who was selected to present a poster at the RSC Challenges in Organic Synthesis (ISACS14) conference in Shanghai.

13th Jul 2014   Congratulations to Charlotte Zammit who was selected to present a poster at the 14th Belgian Organic Synthesis Symposium (BOSS XIV) in Louvain-la-Neuve.

2nd Jul 2014  Congratulations to Aileen Frost who was selected to present a poster at the 14th Annual RSC Postgraduate Fluorine Group Meeting in St. Andrews.

9th Jun 2014  Our review article concerning the Hydrogen bond directed epoxidation of allylic alcohols and amines has been highlighted as a HOT article in Organic & Biomolecular
. [View Journal Page]

16th May 2014  Steve's h-index (Web of Science) has increased to 55.

6th Apr 2014  Congratulations to the SGD group football team who were 'unbeaten' in the annual Catalyst football tournament.

28th Mar 2014  Charlotte Zammit's paper on the asymmetric synthesis of C(5)-substituted transpentacins via a diasereoselective Ireland–Claisen protocol has been selected as a HOT article in Organic & Biomolecular Chemistry.
[View Journal Page]

26th Feb 2014  ​Rushabh Shah's Organic Letters paper, on the asymmetric synthesis of the natural product nakinadine A, has been selected as an ACS Editors' Choice Article.
[View Journal Page]

21st Feb 2014  Steve was awarded the degree DR HONORIS CAUSA from the University of Salamanca. He is only the third chemist to receive this honour, the previous two recipients being Sir Derek Barton (1995) and Steve Ley (2005). The University of Salamanca is one of the oldest universities in the world and only awards three honorary doctorates per year.

Professor Steve Davies

Professor Stephen G. Davies
Waynflete Professor of Chemistry
Chemistry Research Laboratory
University of Oxford
Mansfield Road
OX1 3TA, U.K.

T: +44 (0)1865 275695
F: +44 (0)1865 275633
E: steve.davies@chem.ox.ac.uk


 View Steve's Research Profile on the Chemistry Department website


Steve receiving his Dr Honoris Causa at the University of Salamanca on 21st Feb 2014

The SGD group football team competing in the Catalyst football tournament 2014


Site Map | Printable View | © 2008 - 2016 Department of Chemistry - University of Oxford

Powered by mojoPortal | HTML 5 | CSS | Design by styleshout